|New Jersey State Board of Mortuary Science
Click on the words in blue, above, for the Website link to the New Jersey State Board of Mortuary Science. From there you can access current information, including license renewal requirements.
New Jersey requires 10 hours of continuing education for each renewal period.
5 hours of CE can be completed through home-study courses (Online / by Mail) approved by the New Jersey State Board.
5 hours MUST be completed in settings that require IN-PERSON attendance and include a POST-COURSE EXAMINATION. Those 5 hours MUST include 2 hours in preneed funeral arrangements, and 3 hours in funeral directing ethics and in New Jersey state mortuary law and rules.
License Renewal Deadline: February 28th of every ODD year
Exemptions from CE: Check your state board Website through the above link, or by calling them directly
CE Carryover Policy: CE hours may NOT be carried over
Acceptable Types of Courses: Home study (Online / by Mail); Classroom study
Testing: Required for home study in order to certify completion of course materials. APEX testing is "OPEN BOOK," which means you have access to course materials while taking each quiz.
Course Repetition: A course cannot be repeated within the same renewal period, but the same course can be taken again and will receive credit during subsequent renewal periods.
Certification of Completion: Print the certificate for each quiz you pass. Retain those for your records in case copies are requested by the state.
New Jersey State Board of Mortuary Science
P.O. Box 45009
Newark, NJ 07101
Phone: (973) 504-6425 FAX: (973) 648-2855
APEX courses are Approved by the New Jersey State Board of Mortuary Science
apexces.com offers this information for the convenience of licensees. while reasonable efforts have been made to confirm this information is current and accurate, neither apexces.com, nor its employees or affiliates warrant, guarantee, or represent that this information is accurate or current. all information is subject to change without notice. licensees are encouraged to contact their state board with any questions.